She’s back!

Well well! It’s been so long since I’ve written in this blog that I’m surprised I remember the password. I’ve always liked writing and blogging, but this blog fell by the wayside when I sort of lost the vision for it. I wanted it to be solely about the entertainment industry, but I guess I lost my way: I wasn’t sure anyone would be interested in what I had to say.

I started this blog when I was in a unique position for an actor, a job that gave me some rare insights into life on the other side of the table in the casting room. I thought I’d write about my experiences there, maybe bundled with a little advice for young actors. That was another thing I wanted to cover: there are fantastic advice books and guides available to young actors, but I thought that there may be room for a perspective from someone who’s new in the industry and still trying to create a career. But between those two things lies a conflict: I had fantastic insight into the entertainment industry, and yet, I was still so new (and really, a year later, I still am) and young that, while I’ve done some good work, I certainly haven’t yet made a name for myself. I wondered if anyone could take me seriously, advising about an industry that I haven’t yet conquered.

But the thing is, I’m not sure I care about who takes me seriously and who doesn’t. A blog isn’t compulsory reading, and I trust that anyone who reads this regularly will be doing so because they want to! I ultimately came back to this blog because, hey–if something else like this were out there, I’d read it! Until then–I’ll write it!

I’m not sure that this blog will be quite as clearly defined as what I had originally planned, though. It’ll be observations and insights, triumphs and trials, and a whole lot of who knows what else. I hope you’ll join me for the ride!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

